The second event counting for the Welsh Magic Dragon Series was a 10 miles time trial in the Vale of Neath, promoted by Merthyr CC. The winner was Dave Keene Bristol South CC with 22m.26s. 2nd Colin Wallace Port Talbot Wh. 23-06, and 3rd Mike Portlock Merthyr CC 23-15. Abertillery Wheeler's Brian Fry clocked 28-11.

In the Port Talbot Wheelers open 10 miles TT, held on a faster version of the Vale of Neath course, the winner was Ceri Pritchard Stourbridge CC in 20m.31s. 2nd John Pritchard Leo RC 20-40, 3rd Dave Keene Bristol South CC 21-00. Abertillery Wheelers: Rhys Rowlands 23-01, Ross Phillips 23-03, Tony Hudson 23-04 and Owen Pocock 28-00

The Hirwaun Wh. Open 25 miles TT on the fast Vale of Neath course was won by Oliver Jones Hampshire RC in 51m.43s. 2nd Matt Botrill Team De Rosa 52-10, and 3rd Ceri Pritchard Stourbridge CC 52-32. Abertillery Wheeler Ian Davies clocked 59-40, the fastest time by a member of his club this year.

In the latest of Abertillery Thursday evening 10 miles Time Trials on the revised circuit course between Pontpol and Hafodyrnys, Tony Hudson became the first to beat 24 minutes on the new version of the course when he set a new course record of 23m.55s . Rhys Rowlands 24 m. 03 s.; Stuart Inch 24 m. 23 s.; Ian Davies 24 m. 54 s.; Martin Latewood 25 m. 07 s.; Gareth Chislett 25 m. 33 s.; Dave.Evans 26 m. 38 s.; Owen Pocock 30 m. 25 s. and Brian Morgan 30 m. 58 s.

Next Saturday Abertillery Wheelers promote an open 25 miles time trial on a course starting and finishing at Raglan, but using roads to Monmouth and Abergavenny. The number of entries is less than last year, and can be attributed to the Ross on Wye CC promoting an open time trial over the same distance the following day, on the course in the Vale of Neath, that is regarded as being slightly faster than the one at Raglan. This also being the course that will be used on June 4th and 5th for the British 25 miles Championships.